Family Reunion Reflections

Two years ago, we had a family reunion in Cashiers, North Carolina. I don’t remember a ton from that reunion because I spent most of my time there worrying about my weight. As hard as it is to admit, I see no point in denying that I purged, I cut, I restricted. Putting all of my energy into these things didn’t leave much room for enjoyment. It makes me sad to think back on two years ago. It was just before things started to really change for the better.

We have reunions biennially, so this summer was a reunion summer. We were in Gatlinburg, Tennessee for this one, and it could not have been more different from the last.

It truly astounded me to get to the cabin and feel true excitement instead of angst. I soaked up every minute of being there. I loved it. Sure, I was happy to get back to Grandma’s and have my own room again afterwards, but not anymore so than anyone else in the cabin. Thirty people in an eight bedroom cabin gets a little bit overwhelming no matter who you are. Even still, it barely bothered me this year. We laughed, we played, we talked, we spent time together as a family— all of the grandparents, kids, and grandkids.

Two years ago, we took a four hour tour of the Biltmore. By the end, dizziness had set in. This year, we hiked and walked around town for half a day. I felt amazing. I had so much energy and felt so alive. Using my body as a tool to explore nature and climb around on rocks was a grand adventure, and to feel so great while doing it, to know that I was treating my body well and nourishing it, was so wonderful.

Reflection shows us just how far we’ve come. Remembering the last reunion in comparison to this one shows just how far I’ve come. The smile on my face could not be wiped off. When you regain a freedom you had once lost, you also gain a new appreciation for that freedom. The freedom to enjoy life rocks. Please don’t take it for granted. So many people do not have that freedom for so many reasons. I, for one, plan on soaking mine in to the fullest because you never know what tomorrow may bring. Life is dynamic. Circumstances change, our pasts probably tell us that. Looking back on them reminds us of what we’ve already come through and encourages us in our ability to survive and grow through even more.

I’m not the same person I was two years ago. I’m more prepared for what the future holds, and I’m ready to jump on board and enjoy the ride.

One thought on “Family Reunion Reflections

  1. Hannah says:

    I’ve stumbled across your Instagram and was intrigued enough to read this art ole. I’m so glad I did. It is so encouraging, and it’s something I’ve been thinking about as I pack for my own vacation next week. We are going to the same spot as last year, but this year: It’ll really be a vacation! God has brought be so far in my recovery this year. I am pressing in more and more, learning that He never dissapoints❤️ Thank you for this. Keep surrendering to Him and working hard!

Share Your Thoughts